England v Pakistan: Eoin Morgan among returning stars for T20 series

England beat Pakistan by three wickets on Tuesday for a 3-0 shutout in the ODI series; The two teams will now compete in a three-game IT20 series, which begins at Trent Bridge on Friday, live on Sky Sports Cricket

Captain Eoin Morgan will once again lead England against Pakistan

England captain Eoin Morgan is one of several stellar names returning from a coronavirus-imposed absence to face Pakistan in a three-game T20 series.

Jonny Bairstow, Jason Roy, Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali are also among the nine returning players after missing ODI’s three-match series against the same opponent after a Covid-19 outbreak in England camp. The ECB said affected players have completed the required period of self-isolation and all have tested negative.

Members of the new team that eventually faced – and swept – Pakistan in the 50+ format have been rewarded, with bowlers Saqib Mahmood and Matt Parkinson included, along with off-roader Lewis Gregory.

Ben Stokes, who replaced Morgan as captain against Pakistan, rests alongside Mark Wood, Chris Woakes and Sam Curran, but Jos Buttler returns recovered from a calf injury, while regular Dawid Malan, who is over 20, maintains his usual place.

Head coach Chris Silverwood will skip the series to take a family break, having interrupted one after the coronavirus drama, leaving assistant Paul Collingwood leading the pack. He was originally scheduled to do so in the ODI, but was among those sent into isolation.

Saqib Mahmood is included after starring in a three-game ODI series against Pakistan

Silverwood said: “The success of the Royal London Series against Pakistan showed the exciting depth of talent we have developed in men’s white ball cricket.

“We have selected a T20 team that sees the return of many of our most experienced players after their period of isolation. In addition, we have rewarded some of the players involved in the 50-over series victory with a selection that allows us to manage multiple format players as we prepare for the long-awaited test series against India.

“I would like to express my appreciation to Ben Stokes and the players for their efforts over the past week, and to the counties for their support as this series continues.”

Mahmood took nine wickets in the three games against Pakistan to advertise himself as an option for England’s short-form teams, while Parkinson came forward as a backup to first-choice spinner Adil Rashid by taking five wickets in the series.

Gregory delivered shots of 40 and 77, while also contributing four wickets while limiting Pakistan’s scoring.

The series begins on Friday at Trent Bridge, with games continuing at Headingley on Sunday and Old Trafford on Tuesday. England will then begin a five-match test series against India on August 4.

England IT20 team for Pakistan series:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex – captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Tom Curran (Surrey), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Matt Parkinson (Lancashire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), David Willey (Yorkshire)

Watch the IT20 series opener between England and Pakistan at Trent Bridge starting at 6pm on Friday on Sky Sports Cricket.

Leave a Comment