FIBA 2022 Women’s World Cup Qualifiers groups announced

The draw for the FIBA ​​Women’s World Cup 2022 Qualifiers, which will be held between 10-13 February, has been drawn.

The draw for the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) Women’s Basketball World Cup 2022 Qualifier was held in Geneva, Switzerland.

The distribution of the groups according to the draw was as follows:

Group A: Australia, South Korea, Serbia, Brazil

Group B: France, China, Nigeria, Mali

Group C: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Japan, Canada, Belarus

Group D: Russia, USA, Puerto Rico, Belgium

Three different countries, Serbia, Japan and the USA, will host the group stage of the tournament, and 16 teams will compete for a place among the 12 teams going to the World Cup. Group A and B will be played in Belgrade, Serbia, Group C will be played in Osaka, Japan, and Group D will be played in Washington, USA. The qualifying tournaments will be held from February 10-13.

FIBA Secretary General Andreas Zagklis made the opening speech of the draw, while Serbian basketball legend Sonja Vasic made the draw.

Three teams each from the four qualifying tournaments will advance to the Women’s World Cup in Sydney. The host of the FIBA ​​Women’s Basketball World Cup 2022, Australia and the Olympic champion USA, have automatically qualified for the FIBA ​​Women’s Basketball World Cup 2022.

The Women’s World Cup 2022 will be held from September 22 to October 1, 2022.

Leave a Reply