FIBA announces the members of the Museum of Fame Class 2021

Give 1 Sec To Rate This Article post

The International Basketball Federation (FIBA) announced the FIBA ​​Museum of Fame 2021 class. In the FIBA ​​Museum of Fame 2021 class; Dream Team coach Chuck Daly (USA – posthumous), Panagiotis Giannakis (Greece) and Ettore Messina (Italy) were the prominent names.

Daly held the reins of arguably the most famous team in international basketball history and led the United States to gold at the Barcelona 1992 Olympic Games. Despite being successful as both a high school and college coach, Daly was best known for his twenty years heading NBA teams, where he headed for championships in 1989 and 1990.

Giannakis achieved legendary status in his country as the playmaker of the FIBA ​​European Basketball Championship (EuroBasket) 1987, leading his team to victory. Leading Greece to the FIBA ​​EuroBasket final in 1989 and the first Olympic Games in 1996, Giannakis played 351 matches in his national team career. He also won continental tournaments with Giannakis, Aris and Panathinaikos, who also achieved great success at the club level.

Messina brought Italy to second place in FIBA ​​EuroBasket 1997 and, over three decades of coaching, consolidated its reputation as one of the greatest European coaches of all time. Among the many championship victories their team celebrates, there are also four EuroLeague titles.

The rest of the FIBA ​​Museum of Fame 2021 class consists of a brilliant roster of players and coaches that continue to leave indelible marks on basketball.

In the FIBA ​​Museum of Fame 2021 class; Olympic Games and three FIBA ​​AfroBasket winners Mathieu Faye (Senegal); Olympic gold medalist and world champion Sergey Tarakanov (Russia); three-time NBA All-Star Detlef Schrempf (Germany); Uruguay’s leading scorer at the 1956 Olympic Games, the bronze medal winner Uruguay Oscar Moglia (Uruguay – posthumously); Stanislav Kropilak (Slovakia), five-time Czechoslovakian League champion and FIBA ​​EuroBasket runner-up; Olympic silver and bronze medalist Penka Stoyanova (Bulgaria – posthumous); Haixia Zheng (China), winner of silver and bronze medals at the Olympic Games, runner-up in the FIBA ​​Women’s Basketball World Cup, and FIBA ​​Women’s EuroBasket champion Hana Horakova (Czech Republic), and a silver and bronze medal winner at the Olympic Games and have been four consecutive since 1996. There is Tom Maher (Australia) who coached at the Olympic Games.

For the first time to the FIBA ​​Museum of Fame with the class of 2021; Players from China, Germany, Senegal and Slovakia were included.

The full list of candidates making up the FIBA ​​Museum of Fame 2021 class is as follows:


Mathieu Faye (Senegal)

Hana Horakova (Czech Republic)

Stanislav Kropilak (Slovakia)

Oscar Moglia (Uruguay – posthumous)

Detlef Schrempf (Germany)

Penka Stoyanova (Bulgaria – posthumous)

Sergey Tarakanov (Russia)

Panagiotis Giannakis (Greece)

Haixia Zheng (China)


Chuck Daly (USA – posthumous)

Tom Maher (Australia)

Ettore Messina (Italy)

The FIBA ​​Museum of Fame 2021 class will be added to the list with the 2020 class announced last Tuesday after a year postponed due to the COVID-19 outbreak. The digital ceremony will take place on June 18th.

In the weeks leading up to the Entrance Ceremony, the profile of each participant can be viewed on the website.

Leave a Comment