NFL MVP finalists: Patrick Mahomes, Jalen Hurts, Justin Jefferson among five potential winners of league MVP

Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow and Buffalo Bills QB Josh Allen also made the league MVP finalists; Nick Boza and Micah Parsons nominated for Defensive Player of the Year; San Francisco 49ers quarterback Brock Purdy is a nominee for Rookie of the Year Offensive.

Patrick Mahomes, Jalen Hurts and Justin Jefferson were among the finalists for the Associated Press Most Valuable Player and Offensive Player of the Year awards.

Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Joe Barrow plays Mahomes’ Kansas City Chiefs in the AFC Championship game Sunday. live on Sky Sports NFL, from 11:30 p.m. – and Buffalo Bills QB Josh Allen are also named to the league’s MVP finalists. Miami Dolphins star wide receiver Tyreke Hill is a hitter of the year nominee, but not MVP.

A nationwide group of 50 media members who regularly cover the league completed voting ahead of the start of the playoffs in January.

Mahomes, the 2018 NFL MVP, helped Kansas City to a 14-3 regular season record, giving the Chiefs the No. 1 spot in the AFC. Mahomes led the NFL with 5,250 passing yards and 41 touchdowns. He received 49 of 50 first-team All-Pro AP votes.

The Philadelphia Eagles QB Hurts gained 3,701 passing yards, 760 rushing yards, and 35 touchdowns in total to lead the Eagles to a 14-3 regular season record and the No. 1 seed in the NFC. On Sunday, the Eagles host the San Francisco 49ers in the NFC Championship Game. live on Sky Sports NFL from 8 pm.

Minnesota Vikings star Jefferson is the only wide receiver named among MVP finalists to lead the NFL with 128 receptions and 1,809 yards in his third season in the league. Jefferson was one of two unanimous selections to the AP All-Pro along with Chiefs tight end Travis Kelsey.

San Francisco winger Nick Boza, Chiefs defenseman Chris Jones and Dallas Cowboys winger Micah Parsons were finalists for the AP Defensive Player of the Year award.

Boza led the NFL with 18 and a half sacks in 2022, Jones had 15 and a half and Parsons had 14 and a half in just his second year in the league.

Brian Daboll, Sean McDermott, Doug Pederson, Kyle Shanahan and Nick Sirianni were among the top five finalists for the AP Coach of the Year award.

Leave a Comment