The Ashes: England vs Australia schedules confirmed for 2023 summer as men’s side face June and July Tests

Give 1 Sec To Rate This Article post

England’s men’s Ashes series will kick off at Edgbaston on June 16 and finish at the Kia Oval from July 27 as Ben Stokes hopes to lead the team to glory; The women’s side will take on Australia in a test starting June 22 before three ODIs and three IT20s.

Ben Stokes (left) and Heather Knight will try to retrieve the ashes at home next summer

England’s five-event Ashes series will take place in June and July next year, with the full schedule confirmed for both the men and women as they try to strike back at Australia at home.

Ben Stokes will lead England for the first time in an Ashes series, with the hosts looking to win back the casket for the first time since 2015 and, after a four-day test against Ireland, it will all kick off at Edgbaston on June 16.

The series will then move on to Lord’s (June 28-July 2) and Headingley (July 6-10), the scene of Stokes’ heroics in 2019, before finishing at Emirates Old Trafford (July 19-10). July 23) and The Kia Oval (July 27). -31).

It will be the first time in Ashes’ 139-year history that there is not an August Test in England, with the white-ball team looking to defend their World Cup over 50 years later in the year from October in India. .

The Women’s Ashes will kick off with a test at Trent Bridge on June 22. That multi-format series will then move on to three IT20s and three ODIs, with the series winner decided by a points system while Heather Knight bids for home glory.

The England women have not won the Ashes since 2013/14 and, like the men, were dominated in Australia in 2021/22.

An excellent summer at home will continue for the men with four IT20s against New Zealand, the first of which is at Durham on August 30 and the last at Trent Bridge on September 5.

Jos Buttler’s side will face the Black Caps in four one-day internationals, in the first clash of over 50 teams since the 2019 World Cup final, before hosting Ireland for three more ODIs at the end of the season. of September.

Meanwhile, the women will face Sri Lanka in three IT20s and three ODIs.

Additionally, the ICC has confirmed that the World Test Championship Final will take place at the Oval in June, while Lord’s has been chosen to host in 2025.

“We are absolutely delighted to be hosting two Ashes Series in 2023, as well as hosting Irish Men, New Zealand Men and Sri Lankan Women,” said ECB Acting Chief Executive Clare Connor.

“Next summer is going to be huge for the women and men of England. There are few events more special in English sport than an Ashes series at home and I know Heather, Ben and their teams will be excited and driven by the challenge of recovering the Ashes.

“I am particularly delighted that we have announced our England men’s and women’s matches for the first time, meaning supporters can enter the ticket or register interest for any match on the same day. June and July will be very special months. for cricket in this country with the buzz of two series of Ashes taking place simultaneously”.


Test vs Ireland (Lord’s) – June 1-4

First Ashes Test vs Australia (Edgbaston) – June 16-20

Second Ashes Test vs Australia (Lord’s) – June 28 to July 2

Third Ashes Test vs Australia (Headingley) – July 6-10

Fourth Test Ashes vs Australia (Emirates Old Trafford) – July 19-23

Ashes Test 5 (Kia Oval) vs Australia – July 27-31

First international T20 vs New Zealand (Chester-le-Street) – August 30

Second T20 international vs New Zealand (Emirates Old Trafford) – September 1

Third T20 international vs New Zealand (Edgbaston) – September 3

Leave a Comment