The Primera Iberdrola 2021/22 would run from September 4 to May 15

The 2021/22 season will begin on September 4, 2020 and will end on May 15, 2021 if the calendar corridor managed by the RFEF ends up being approved. And is that The federative entity, given the advances in what was announced by the Government would be the first professional women’s league, takes the reins of women’s football for both the present and the future, in which important developments are noted such as the requirement for natural grass pitches, minimum number of spectators in the stands, setting the minimum wage for players or reducing the maximum category to 14 teams.

Although the CSD approved on June 15 the change of cataloging of the women’s league to professional, the launch of the same seems to be carried out during the coming season, something that has the prospect of raising new discrepancies between the clubs and the RFEF, even more so considering that the federative entity continues to work as if it were in charge of directing the fate of the competition.

At the moment next year it will return to a First division of 16 teams, although it anticipates that it wants to reduce it to 14 for the 2023/24 season. It is the last movement of the different changes and demands that the federative entity wants to make in women’s football and that we announced in MARCA last week.


The RFEF once again changes the format of the Queen’s Cup, pretending that next year it will be contested by the First Iberdrola teams, the 26 Second division teams (all without counting subsidiaries) and the four champions of the promotion phase of the First National to Second. The pairings will be carried out by draw, facing a single match between teams of lower and higher category in the field of the most small -As long as the field meets the minimum requirements of the RFEF and if it is of the same category, it will be played on the field from which it came first in the draw.

The Queen’s Cup would have three first rounds that would be played on October 6/7, November 10/11 and January 26/27. The round of 16 would be held on March 2/3, the quarterfinals on March 16/17, the semifinals on May 25/26 and the final on May 29 at venue yet to be defined.


Since recovering the Spanish women’s Super Cup dispute two years ago, the Federation has opted for the format final four for the development of it. Next year the four participating teams will be Barcelona, ​​Real Madrid, Levante and Atlético de Madrid or Real Sociedad (The rojiblancas start with a two-point advantage in the absence of the last league match).

The Super Cup is set on the provisional calendar between January 19 and 23, taking place in a single venue (yet to be defined), after a pure draw and in a single match.


The new Champions League will start on July 2 with the draw for the first preliminary round in which the third-ranked of the Primera Iberdrola will participate this year, see Levante. This Round 1 will be played in a one-to-four-team knockout mini-tournament on August 18-21.

The second round, where the second classified of the First Iberdrola, that is, Real Madrid, will enter into action, will be drawn on August 22 and it will be played, as a direct two-legged tie, on August 31 or September 1 and September 8/9.

The group stage, for which Barcelona is classified as the current champion of the competition, will be drawn on September 13 and will be played in six days: October 5/6, October 13/14, November 9/10, November 17/18, December 8/9 and December 15/16.

The draw for the last rounds will be held on December 20. The quarterfinals will be held on March 22/23 (first leg) and March 30/31 (second leg); the semifinals on April 23/24 (first leg) and April 30 / May 1 (second leg); Y The final will be held at the Juventus Stadium in Turin on Sunday, May 22, 2022.


The season is marked by the dispute of the European Championship in England from July 6 to 31, 2022, an event marked in red on the calendar by both the national team and the internationals. Spain will have five FIFA windows before the continental event: from September 13 to 21, from October 18 to 26, from November 22 to 30, from February 15 to 23 and from April 4 to 21. It should be noted that most of these windows are intended to play qualifying matches for the 2023 World Cup, although the intention of the RFEF is to fill in the remaining gaps with high-level friendlies.

The Spanish team would concentrate shortly after the season ends, taking into account that the League would end on May 15 and the Cup on May 29.

Leave a Reply